View previous topicGo downView next topic
View user profile

SAAB 93 Sportwagon Aero

on Mon May 29, 2017 12:47 pm
Autotrader - automatic, up to £3500 (all i could scrape together) under 100k search by distance.

This one came up first 2 miles away.

Given my history with SAABs It immediately caught my eye. and at £2300 to trade in I wasn't going to argue it just ticked all the boxes in my "i'm a Mercedes driver, get me out of here" period.

Good bits:

only 62k
mega service history, and i rang the garage which appears to be what was left of the main dealer in Leeds, they confirmed they had looked after it for years, good customer service!
not a mark on it, its been owned by a guy i actually half-know - friend of a friend of a friend sort of thing, hes had to pack in driving so a quick call confirmed there were no scary bits awaiting me.
The gearbox (and flappy paddles) are just brilliant, better even than the merc. It hasn't missed a gear yet cos sometimes especially at a roundabout you get that yes/no/yes thing with an auto, this hasn't, its been spot on.
Engine 2 litre full turbo moves when it is asked to but wafty mode certainly suits it.
The seats.- fab
The Bose Audio - fab!
Brilliant use of rear space and theres a clever lift-up and fold back boot floor which reveals another movable shelf and then theres lots of cubby holes under that in the spare wheel well.

Hmmmm dunno bits.

Given its the Aero it has xenon self leveling lights full dual climate and lots of other extras i'm a little surprised it doesn't have lectric folding mirrors, auto lights and wipers, something i got used to, but really it wasn't a deal breaker, just a bit "this isn't the top model"
Its sports suspension and LP tyres is pretty hard on shitty roads a bit like the old 3 series i had. However up at speed and on a motorway its excellent.